Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

2004-07-23 - 11:54 a.m.

Hey everyone!

I am now here.

2004-07-05 - 5:01 p.m.

This weekend was so wonderful...

Saturday I worked 7 a.m. until 5 p.m., and Gennaro took the bus up and was waiting for me in the bookstore before we closed. I saw him seated on the couch and reading when I had walked over to get a new biography on Francisco Goya a customer was looking for and leaned in from behind him to kiss him.

My shift couldn't end fast enough, although I got to work at the customer service desk and looked up books, learning a lot more about running a bookstore. When finally I got to run out at 5:05, Gennaro was standing outside on the sidewalk and smiled a me. We walked over to Cafe of PAIN and I introduced him to Jeff and Rachel (although I was hoping Angela would still be there.)

We were hungry, so I took him home and made us some dinner. While I was doing that, Gary came by to pick up more of his stuff. I knew he was coming, but expected he'd be there a lot earlier, like when I was still at work. But I did notice the stuff he planned to get was still there. Gennaro happened to be in the bathroom then, and Gary quickly ran up and down stairs getting his stuff when I explained I wasn't alone. Gennaro came out of the bathroom and I was just finishing making dinner. I explained Gary's presence, to which Gennaro replied, "Well, this is awkward..." I agreed and shrugged and started filling his plate. Gary left without a word and neither of them saw the other.

After dinner and talking, we hung out for a while. We were supposed to go to the drive-in with V. and l., but they cancelled due to a family obligation. We still wanted to see Spiderman, so we walked to the mall. We stopped at Borders first and glut ourselves on books. We hung out in Metaphysics and Tarot for a while, discussing Wicce, Fate, and our relationship and making out. The kid and her mom just kind of ignored us. (Hey, we were there first!)

We went to the 10:25 showing when we bought our tickets at 10:20 and got the BIGGEST popcorn and shared it and snuck-in sodas. We made out again through the silly quizzes and all the ads and some of the previews. We ate lots of popcorn, until Gennaro hid it so we'd have some left for the movie.

We watched the movie in rapture, holding hands and giggling to each other. We ate all the popcorn and Gennaro left to where I assumed to be the bathroom. He came back with another HUGE popcorn, which we quickly consumed half of.

We took the rest of the popcorn with us. We walked to Waterfire. It was just about over, the fires dwindling and almost no one around. Again, kissing with tongue on one of the benches, only interrupted by the Mexican cleaning guys picking up everyone's unfortunate trash and a drunk guy who jumped the wall behind us to show off to his friends.

We walked back home. It felt good walking. It had been so muggy and we had eaten so much, it was good to be moving. We walk at the same pace. We talked about so many things.

We were crossing an intersection, me holding the bag of popcorn and he his hat and glasses, when the car approaching far enough off didn't seem to be slowing down. G. pulled me quckly to the sidewalk and the car screeched past us. I thought of throwing our popcorn at this homicidal vehicle, but it was now too far away.

We passed an enormous tree and both touched it. Gennaro had been talking about Nicolas Tesla, and I told him I could feel the energy in this tree.

Back at home, G. was not even close to sleep and didn't want to sleep in my bed. So we pulled out the futon and soon at least I was asleep as I had to ready myself for the yard sale the next day.

I got up at 5:30, having three and a half hours sleep. I made coffee and drove down the street and back to put up signs to the yard sale. When I returned fifteen minutes later, Gennaro was still out cold. I made some effort to be quiet, but there were a could of loud enough crashes as I moved things, including a lot of furniture from my RISD/Brown trash-picking and hauled them outside. The yard sale officially started at 8 a.m., but by 7:15 I had already sold the working dorm refridgerator. (Incidentally, my new roommate Miranda is doing a documentary on people who arrive early to yard sales. I wonder if she likes the "Best in Show" film?)

G. opened his eyes around 8:30. He wiggles his toes when he's sleeping. He wiggles his toes all the time. I brought coffee over to him and he asked me if I wanted him to get up. Eventually, I answered, since Miranda would be moving in, going right past him.

He got up shortly after and helped man the yard-sale while I made breakfast. We made $36 all told, and moved a lot of inventory. Since most of it was trash-pickings, it was almost pure profit.

While the yardsale was going on, Miranda moved some of her stuff in and paid her rent. I met her mom, a very old-school hippie. Another girl I got in touch arrived to check the place out. I was interviewing her when Miranda arrived, and the two had met a couple weeks ago since they were both looking for places to live. I figured that settled it. I took references to be the adult, but Joanna and I also hit it off very well. She's a Pagan who's studying herbal medicine and holistic health. And she has a six year old Maine Coon.

I gave Gennaro a painting lesson in the midst of all this. I think I overwhelmed him with all the painting techniques I was explaining, but he's catching on. He's a decent drawer and has an excellent eye for compositions. With oil pastels, he does some very nice work. With paint, however, it's still very foreign to him. He has to think very differently than he's used to. He's a smudger, not a mark-maker (which we haven't even gotten to yet; we're still on color and values). But he's definitely interested in learning. His benfactor has offered him more money, which he turned down until he has work to show.

After we cleaned up the yard sale and rebagged all the clothes for the Salvation Army (we sold all but one pair of shoes), I needed a nap. We started making out on the red couch and I unbuttoned his shirt. I said I would feel more comfortable upstairs, since my roommate was coming back at some point. We went upstairs, but he got very shy and awkward again. Some people wait until they're married; we're waiting until I'm NOT married. I kept saying I was going to get up, but I slept over two hours. I woke up thirsty, bleary-eyed, and groggy. There was a cook-out to go to...

More later.

(There were pictures of Gennaro here, but he requested I remove them since I'm still married. He's right. I just like showing him off to people, and so far only people from work have met him. Sigh.)

previous - next - notes


Visit my shop!

blog - 2005-03-31
storage - 2004-10-24
- - 2004-07-23
Wonderful Weekend... - 2004-07-05
Independence Day - 2004-07-03
Diary Reviews Wish List


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

pg13
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!